Movie Review: ‘Only Lover Left Alive’

Funk's House of Geekery

vampireDirected by: Jim Jarmusch

Starring: Tom Hiddleston, Tilda Swinton, and Mia Wasikowska

Plot: Two separated immortal lovers are reunited after many years.

Review:

I’m not scared of death. I mean, I’m not scared of being on the other side of the door, but I am scared that walking through that door will be painful. The scariest things of all though, or maybe depressing is the better word, is that after I am cold and buried there will always be more comics, more movies, and more TV shows being made that I will never be able to experience. I know that probably seems selfish and hollow, but for some reason, that thought just makes me instantly sick to my stomach.

That is why I relate so much to Jim Jarmusch’s hipster vampire movie, possibly his most approachable movie I have ever seen. Jarmusch doesn’t treat immortality as a depressing melodramatic life sentence…

View original post 451 more words

Leave a Reply

